Gregory County Commission Proceedings

The regular meeting of the Gregory County Commission was held Tuesday, December 17, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. in Burke with the following members present: Jessy Biggins, Byrain Boes, Lance Matucha, and Jeff Johnson. Members absent: Doug Janousek. Also present: Julie Bartling, Auditor and Patty Connealy, Gregory Times Advocate.

Chair Jessy Biggins called the meeting to order and all present recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of Agenda: Motion by Jeff Johnson, second by Byrain Boes to approve the agenda with following additions: Landfill Permit renewal; John Jensen, Weed Supervisor to discuss audit; Abatement of Tax; Employee Resignation; Employee Hiring. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

Approval of Minutes: Motion by Byrain Boes, second by Jeff Johnson to approve the minutes of the December 3, 2024 meeting as read. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

Conflicts of Interest: The Chair asked if there were any conflicts of interest from members present. None were disclosed.

Ex-Parte Communications: The Chair inquired if there have been any ex-parte communications by any member present. None were notated.

Public Input: The Chair opened the meeting for public input.

Gary York met with the Board to discuss repair/replacement of a culvert on a section line located between Sections 21 & 28 of Burke Civil. County maps show that the section line is marked closed, but the Highway Superintendent will look into the need requested by Mr. York.

Sheriff's Department Budget Discussion: Cody Spann, Chief Deputy Sheriff, met with the Board to follow up on a prior discussion to potentially give bonuses to the deputies as they have picked up the hours that a former deputy was working upon leaving employment. The budget projects to be spent and unable to provide such.

Landfill Permit Renewal: Motion by Jeff Johnson, second by Byrain Boes to authorize the Chair and Highway Superintendent to sign the renewal application for the Gregory County landfill and rubble site for the period of 2025 through 2029. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

Abatement of Taxes: Motion by Byrain Boes, second by Jeff Johnson to approve the following abatement of taxes (Mobile Home):

Record #6547 - \$43.28 (Mobile Home sold & moved) All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

Employee Resignations: Motion by Jeff Johnson, second by Byrain Boes to accept the resignations of the following employees effective 12-31-24:

Scott Drews – Highway Department shop mechanic Shelby Jones – Nurses Office- WIC program

All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

New Employee Hiring: Motion by Jeff Johnson, second by Byrain Boes to approve hiring Richard Mark Bailey effective 12-18-2024 at \$21.00 per hour as Highway Department Shop Mechanic. Mr. Bailey will start over as a new employee, with a six months probationary period, following county policies. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

Highway Department Report: Bob Nelson, Highway Superintendent, reported on the following department activities.

- Renew 5 mining permits (closing one)
- Standy Gravel hauling continues
- Rip Rap done on repair sites
- 2024 tractor leases complete
- Negotiating 2025 tractor leases
- Landing Creek culverts (FEMA 2019) Estimate:
 - \$148,000 Federal and \$15,000 County (must be completed in 2025)
- CR 27 Project bid letting 1-7-25

Weed Department Audit: John Jensen, Weed Supervisor met with the Board to inform the Commissioners of Audit findings from the SD Department of Agriculture. The department must develop a new style of report form for spraying activities.

Mr. Jensen will also need to look for a new Weed Board member representing the southwest section of the county.

Courthouse Security Proposal: Motion by Jeff Johnson, second by Byrain Boes to accept the proposal of Safe-N- Secure of Sioux Falls for installation of a new access control system with an integrated time management system, at a cost of \$67,196.35. This system qualifies for the UJS Court Security Grant. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

Executive Session: Motion by Byrain Boes, second by Jeff Johnson to enter into executive session at 10:17 a.m. to discuss personnel. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

Motion by Byrain Boes, second by Jeff Johnson to adjourn from executive session at 10:58 a.m. with no action taken. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

Adjourn: Motion by Jeff Johnson, second by Byrain Boes to adjourn. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Julie Bartling, Gregory Co. Auditor

Jessy Biggins, Chair